Show Reviews

OUR HOUSE
May 2019

“Madness musical Our House ‘is huge fun’. If the opening night of St Albans Musical Theatre Company’s production of Our House is anything to go by, the show will be raising the roof of The Alban Arena … and it is safe to say that SAMTC has another huge hit on its hands.”
Herts Advertiser

“Fantastic show! 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟”; “Felt like a professional production!”; “Blown away by the talent on stage!”; “Absolutely fantastic show with all the madness songs. Can’t believe all the talent and energy on show! …sooo worth seeing”; “Many congrats for a highly entertaining evening at Our House last night – I was exhausted just watching you all”; “a terrific afternoon of ‘Madness’ & fun.  Your exuberance was infectious.”; “a fabulous night’s entertainment, I had a blast!”
Audience comments

“A really good version of the musical featuring the music of Madness – with plenty of energy from an enthusiastic cast.”
NODA Review

 

CHITTY CHITTY BANG BANG
November 2018

“Magical production of Chitty is ‘an undoubted triumph’ …. take a magical flying car, first rate singing, dancing and acting and an appreciative audience and you have another hit for St Albans Musical Theatre Company …. And it is fun, fun, fun …”
Herts Advertiser

“Blimey, that was just a fantastic production! You should all be very proud of yourselves, another triumph”; “a magical, fantasmagorical evening”; “we saw the show last night. It was truly amazing… so many wonderful moments throughout”; “A technically challenging show … pulled off with aplomb!”; “great comic performances and lots of spectacular set pieces and dance numbers!”; “Worthy of the West End. Left with a smile on my face and “Team Work” song stuck in my head. Fantastic!”
Audience comments

“… a premium production, that was exceedingly well done; I loved the show … such an iconic musical, with lots of fun, …  good musical numbers, performed well … the car worked extremely well, and got a round of applause both nights I saw the show!  Congratulations to everyone involved for taking on such a large project and delivering it to such a high standard”.
NODA Review

 

PRISCILLA, QUEEN OF THE DESERT
May 2018

“… Overall a super show, that gave us laughter and for me a few tears, always a good sign! The audience were fully engaged from the start. I enjoyed it from start to finish, and left feeling I had seen a really first class production.”
NODA Review

“… from the riotous reaction of the first night crowd … they clearly loved every minute.  Priscilla, Queen of the Desert … sparkled, dazzled and did exactly what it said on the tin…. not so much a feel good but a feel fabulous night out”
Herts Advertiser

“A fabulous show, perfect casting, brilliant vocals and a real glitter-fest. Doubled up laughing one moment and wiping away a tear the next. What more can you ask for from a nights entertainment.”; “… amazing performance … haven’t had such a fun night out in ages”; “… just wish I’d booked to see it a couple more times during the week”; “what an utterly fabulous performance tonight … loved it!”; “What a fantastic show. A phenomenally exhilarating and uplifting example of the best of musical theatre”.
Audience comments

 

WEST SIDE STORY
November 2017

“Wow! That was amazing and wouldn’t be out of place in the West End. Loved every minute”; “raving about the sheer quality running through the whole show”; “simply fabulous in every way”; “blown away by the talent, stunning voices, staging, incredible choreography and top notch orchestra”; “spectacularly powerful”; “brilliant show, loved every note!”
Audience comments

“…..completely engaged from the beautifully choreographed, well-danced prologue, to the stillness and drama of the bows …….some wonderful dance numbers and fight scenes, it brought the whole musical to life, …… With so many named parts it is not possible to mention everyone, but suffice to say there were no weak links …..  a superb production”.
NODA Review

“……. this production triumphed, producing a well-directed and remarkably ‘professional’ presentation of what is, for any company, a daunting challenge.  Go see it!”
Herts Advertiser

 

SPAMALOT
April 2017

“… the whole cast shone, doing justice to the great Monty Python material …. Overall a triumph”
St Albans Life Review

“OMG What a fantastic performance” “I am speechless! That stage was bursting with talent” “Pure joy!” “What a fab, talented cast. Lady of the Lake – your vocals were off the scale” “Great cast, strong characters and a kick-arse orchestra” “Funny, slick, imaginative & entertaining” “Great show and professional standard” “If there’s one thing I’m glad I did this week it’s see Spamalot.  My smile is still aching!”
Audience comments

“…. funny and irreverent, and obviously much enjoyed by the cast …. lovely numbers …. executed with finesse by both principals and ensemble … great harmonies … impressed by the musical accomplishment … All in all a very good version … it was bright and had loads of energy …”
NODA Review

 

SISTER ACT
November 2016  sister-act-review-herts-ad-nov-16
“If you only see one show between now and the end of the year – and that includes panto – make sure it is the cracking production of Sister Act being performed by St Albans Musical Theatre Company (SAMTC) at the Alban Arena this week”.
Herts Ad Review

” The absolute best ‘amateur’ production I have ever seen (and I have seen a lot!)” “Sister Act, you blew my mind tonight”.  “Nothing short of amazing, we loved it”.  “Absolutely outstanding”. “Still smiling from last night’s show, well done, very funny, very entertaining and so uplifting”. “Superb production, brilliant choreography, first class band and such a talented cast”.
Audience Comments    

“.. this production was a triumph!  The energy, enthusiasm and professional approach to the production was evident from all the cast.”                
NODA Review    

 

FIDDLER ON THE ROOF
April 2016  img_9754img_9754
“…a slick and professional show…”
Herts Ad Review

“WHOW! What a wonderful professional performance, singing acting, sound, everything!  It was simply marvellous… you are a very special and talented troop”
Audience Comments

“Overall a remarkable production, I was very impressed, as with the older more traditional musicals it is often difficult to make them feel different and exciting, but I felt this was definitely achieved in this production”
NODA Review

 

HAIRSPRAY
November 2015  Herts Ad review
“… we were entertained by a production that could have come straight from the West End ….With a sold-out week and standing ovations, Hairspray was a big success …… ”
Herts Ad Review